Meer Power
Boring synth stuff

Exporting Regions from Edison for EasyMakeSamples

Edison’s ‘Export Regions’ function is so useful, I’m angry that I never knew about it until five minutes ago. In a nutshell, if you make a bunch of drum samples or loops or whatever and record them all into Edison one after another, splitting up each loop or sample with a marker and choosing export regions will save each marker as a separate wav.

So I’m going to take a few snare drum samples from my excessively large collection and layer them together to make some new snare sounds. These samples will be destined for the FPC, so they’ll be of the obsessive veloctiy-mapped multisample variety. After they’re layered up, I’ll just pop them into Edison and pop them back out as individual wavs. Fun.

Layering Drums in the Step Sequencer

To begin, I just throw a bunch of snare samples into the step sequencer. I try to make the sounds ascend in loudness and hardness, so that soft snares are at the left and big loud ones are further on. Obviously, there’s a lot of volume automation and the pitch of some samples are varied between each step, so that it sounds natural. Each step should sound unique in some way, as the tiny variances between velocity layers is what adds realism. Alt-R will randomize both the pattern (which we don’t want) or the levels of one or more of the channels. I used this to lazily add some volume and pitch variations on some of the layers. When I’m setting up all these layers, I have the tempo set to about 60 bpm so that I can hear all the drum sounds in succession. Later on, when I start recording, I’ll lower the tempo so that each hit can fade out before the next one begins.

Reverb, Eq, Compression!

When I’m pretty happy with how the snares are sounding, I’ll put a bit of compression or reverb or whatever else might sound good on the whole deal. I’m using the compressor inside the Fruity Limiter. ‘Masterizing’ samples is kind of dumb.

Low end rumblies

When the compression and reverb or whatever else is sounding pretty good, I’ll add Edison after the last plugin and record the whole pattern. I set the tempo to 15 or so bpm, and there’s a bit of unneeded space between each hit, but we can trim it out later. While in Edison, I’ll just EQ out all the low-end rumblies that don’t do any good. Ctrl-N will normalize the whole recording, and we might as well get that out of the way.

Auto Slicing

Right-clicking the auto-slicing button will bring up a list of slicing options to add a marker to the beginning of each snare. Edison’s auto-slicing is usually pretty good, but it’s definitely not infallible. After slicing it up with dull auto-slicing, I went through and looked at each slice. Most of them were pretty much on point, but some of them were way off. Since I knew that every sound started on an eighth note, I set the tempo of the sample in Edison to 30, in the sample properties window, which can be brought up by pressing F2. Then I sliced it again with medium grid-slicing, and it all worked out great.

Renaming Regions

When we save all of these regions as individual wav files, each one will be named after whatever the name of it’s marker is. AwesomeSnare_Marker#6.wav is a bad name for a sample, so I’m going to rename them all to just numbers. Edison’s rename all function in the regions menu will do this. It’ll play the region and you type in what it’s name should be.

Silence

There’s a lot of silent gaps all over the place between these samples, and it would be a waste of space to keep them in. I converted the whole sample to 16 bits and used the spectrum view to delete all the silent parts. I could have kept them all in 32 bits, but that’s also a waste of space.

Export Regions

Now for the big moment, Export regions. I’ll just make a new folder where I want them to appear, and all my drum samples will be saved. Nice.

No Responses to “Exporting Regions from Edison for EasyMakeSamples”

Leave a Reply

